Spec me a server!

DVBLink TVSource is discussed here!

Spec me a server!

Postby wonder_lander » Sat Mar 17, 2012 9:06 pm

I'm currently running WHS 2011 on a Quad-Core AMD Opteron 1352 @ 2.10Ghz with 4 GB of RAM but when I'm viewing multiple HD channels I'm getting pixellation. (I've got a quad DVB-S2 TBS 6984 card) I'm using ACAMD to decrypt the channels so I know this adds extra overheads onto the server.

Would upping the RAM to 8GB make things better or should I be looking at replacing the Mobo and CPU?

Anyone got a similar setup where they can share the server spec that they've got?
wonder_lander
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 12:23 am


Re: Spec me a server!

Postby wonder_lander » Sun Mar 18, 2012 6:59 pm

Someone must have a client server setup that works in a similar setup to what I'm asking about?!
wonder_lander
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 12:23 am

Spec me a server!

Postby Videonisse » Sun Mar 18, 2012 10:41 pm

Not an answer but a couple of ideas (I have same card)...

- have you installed latest TBS driver? They recently changed from using IRQs

- what is the CPU load watching 4 uncrypted HD channels and have you verified how much it increases per active coded HD channel?
Server Win 7 64-bit SP1, Intel i5-3570K 3,4GHz HD 4000 Graphics 9.18.10.3165, 6GB, TBS 6984 S2 Quad,TBS 6280 T2 Dual
DVBLink 4.6.0 Connect & TVSource, CD S Thor 0.8W,FTA Aastra 19.2E, S FTA T2, ACAMD 0.6.2
Clients iPhone 3Gs 4S iPad2 iOS 6,Win 7 PCs
Videonisse
 
Posts: 353
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 10:29 pm
Location: Stocholm, sweden

Re: Spec me a server!

Postby Oberon » Mon Mar 19, 2012 9:58 pm

wonder_lander wrote:I'm currently running WHS 2011 on a Quad-Core AMD Opteron 1352 @ 2.10Ghz with 4 GB of RAM but when I'm viewing multiple HD channels I'm getting pixellation. (I've got a quad DVB-S2 TBS 6984 card) I'm using ACAMD to decrypt the channels so I know this adds extra overheads onto the server.

Would upping the RAM to 8GB make things better or should I be looking at replacing the Mobo and CPU?

Anyone got a similar setup where they can share the server spec that they've got?

ACAMD decryption may use quite some CPU for HD channel decryption. What is the server CPU usage when you get pixelation?
Server: Synology DS214Play, DVBSky S960CI Astra 28/23/19 (CanalDigitaal subscription), TeVii s660 Amos 4/Sirius, DVBLink TVSource and TV Adviser (GB) 5.1.0
Clients: AsRock ION 330 Win7 with XBMC 13.2, RPi with XBMC 13.2, Samsung Galaxy S3, Nexus 7
Oberon
 
Posts: 9130
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 5:04 am

Re: Spec me a server!

Postby justinalot » Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:32 pm

IMHO Intel handles Multimedia alot more efficently than AMD Chips

Before you all start to flame, I am sorry!

I use an Intel Quad Core Socket 775 with 6 gig Ram but I use an external Dream box for decryption.
Zalman 160XT,Quad Core Intel,2 WinTV-NOVA-HD-S2,1 WinTV-HVR-4400,4 Sources 3 HD S2 1 Analogue
DVBLINK Source and DVBLINK Network
Dreambox 500
DigiGuide Addin
justinalot
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:09 am

Re: Spec me a server!

Postby wonder_lander » Wed Mar 21, 2012 10:13 pm

I've just upgraded to the latest TBS driver (hadn't spotted the recent release) but it hasn't made any difference.

It starts breaking up and freezing when the CPU hits around 70%

4 Unencrypted HD streams use about 50% in total.
wonder_lander
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 12:23 am

Re: Spec me a server!

Postby mini__me » Thu Mar 22, 2012 1:58 pm

GA-H67A-UD3H-B3
i7-2600k 3.4Ghz
8GB RAM
60 GB OCZ Vertex 3
2TB WD Recorded TV
1TB Seagate Movie/Music
1x TBS 6920
2x TBS 8920
2x TBS 6981
1x DM 800

No problem recording 8 streams and playing recordings at the same time :mrgreen:
mini__me
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 2:09 pm

Re: Spec me a server!

Postby drewmate » Thu Mar 22, 2012 2:36 pm

Intel i5
P8Z68-V LX motherboard
8GB RAM
2x Skystar HD2
1x Dual Tevii S480
2x 500GB Seagate
1x Western Digital 2TB
1x Seagate x 1TB
WHS 2011
Drivebender Drivepool
Cat6 LAN

I get minimal pixilation but I think that is more to do with the dycryption of the channels and not the setup.

I would buy more RAM first, 4GB is very cheap at the moment.
drewmate
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 4:42 pm

Re: Spec me a server!

Postby wonder_lander » Fri Mar 23, 2012 10:39 am

What i5 processor are you running?

My current server is an HP Proliant ML115 G5 and another 4GB (2 x 2GB) is a whopping ?65 as it's DDR2!
wonder_lander
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 12:23 am

Re: Spec me a server!

Postby drewmate » Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:47 pm

Intel core i5 2500k 3.30ghz.

I have DDR3 RAM which at the moment is very cheap. Here in Spain I bought a 4GB chip for 25?.
drewmate
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 4:42 pm

Re: Spec me a server!

Postby wonder_lander » Sun Mar 25, 2012 9:41 pm

Thanks for getting back to me. Do you know the answer to this question - viewtopic.php?f=55&t=17761
wonder_lander
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 12:23 am

Re: Spec me a server!

Postby wonder_lander » Fri Apr 20, 2012 11:11 am

Upgraded to an i5 2500k with 8GB of RAM and all is good in the hood!
wonder_lander
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 12:23 am


Return to DVBLink TVSource

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest