Merge channels from different TV-cards ??

General discussion about DVBLink products

Merge channels from different TV-cards ??

Postby Heiko123 » Tue May 31, 2016 5:28 pm

Hello,

in version 4.0 and version 5.0 it was impossible to merge the same channel from different tv-cards.

It is or will it be possible this merging in V6 ???
W7MC-Rechner: GA-MA785GT-UD3H; AMD Athlon X4 630; beQuiet 300W; 8GB RAM; 8x DVB-S (2x PCTV4000i;2x DigitalDevices-DVBS2); W7MCE-32bit; DVBLink-Source 4.5.3; DVBLink-Connect; DVBLink-Client
... and you can find me: http://www.mce-community.de/forum/
Heiko123
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 9:54 pm


Re: Merge channels from different TV-cards ??

Postby Oberon » Tue May 31, 2016 6:45 pm

No, this is not implemented.
Oberon
 
Posts: 11763
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 5:04 am

Re: Merge channels from different TV-cards ??

Postby patrikp » Tue May 31, 2016 7:32 pm

Hi,

Are we talking about merging channels or creating source groups?

Surely you can merge one channel from a particular tuner with another channel from a totally different kind of tuner. I do it all the time...

Patrik
patrikp
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 6:39 pm

Re: Merge channels from different TV-cards ??

Postby Heiko123 » Wed Jun 01, 2016 8:27 am

Oberon wrote:No, this is not implemented.


sadly to hear that.
Will it be in V6 final or what speaks against that?

Any people have got different TV-Cards, but the same channels and would like use that potential in one mce-channel.

patrikp wrote:Surely you can merge one channel from a particular tuner with another channel from a totally different kind of tuner. I do it all the time...


No, that isn't possibly.
You can per source group only one typ of tv-card implementation and then only in this group a merge perform.

I have 2x DD-Cards and 2xPCTV400-Cards.
Within DD-Card is SD and HD-Channels
in PCTV4000 only SD-Channels
and my Requirement is, that a can merge all SD-channels from all 4x cards
W7MC-Rechner: GA-MA785GT-UD3H; AMD Athlon X4 630; beQuiet 300W; 8GB RAM; 8x DVB-S (2x PCTV4000i;2x DigitalDevices-DVBS2); W7MCE-32bit; DVBLink-Source 4.5.3; DVBLink-Connect; DVBLink-Client
... and you can find me: http://www.mce-community.de/forum/
Heiko123
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 9:54 pm

Re: Merge channels from different TV-cards ??

Postby Oberon » Wed Jun 01, 2016 9:51 am

It is not planned for v6 final.
Oberon
 
Posts: 11763
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 5:04 am

Re: Merge channels from different TV-cards ??

Postby Videonisse » Wed Jun 01, 2016 9:56 am

It works, I have merged channels from 2 different cards and it's same procedure when adding additional cards.

Key is to only create one single source group (from 1 card) and create a single source per tuner for all other cards. Then you can use merge for all single tuners together with the source group.

This is not a pretty solution and I agree that DVBLogic should by now have fixed the source group design flaw introduced already in v4.6. Merge between several source group must be fixed asap, why not with v6?
Win 7 64-bit SP1, Intel i5-3570K 3,4GHz HD 4000 Graphics, 6GB, TBS 6984 S2 Quad,TBS 6280 T2 Dual
DVBLink 5.5.0 Connect & TVSource (mc_recorder), CD S Thor 0.8W,FTA Aastra 19.2E, S FTA T2, ACAMD 0.6.2
Clients iPhone 4S 5S 6S, iPad2 iOS 9,Win 7 PCs
Videonisse
 
Posts: 573
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 10:29 pm
Location: Stocholm, sweden

Re: Merge channels from different TV-cards ??

Postby patrikp » Wed Jun 01, 2016 4:09 pm

Hi,

Videonisse is right. I do not use source groups at all, so I configure one source for each of my six
tuners. I have 2 old FloppyDTV DVB-T tuners and 4 DD DVB-T2 tuners.
Then I can merge a channel from all six tuners into a single logical channel.

Patrik
patrikp
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 6:39 pm

Re: Merge channels from different TV-cards ??

Postby Cessquill » Wed Jun 01, 2016 5:10 pm

This was one of the primary reasons I went down the DVBLogic route originally - the ability to pool channels from different sources. It was what I saw as being the main draw for the software. I appreciate that it can still be sort of done if you write off a newer feature, but I'd have thought it would have been reimplemented now.
Cessquill
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 11:24 am

Re: Merge channels from different TV-cards ??

Postby Heiko123 » Thu Jun 02, 2016 9:11 am

@patrikp: I don't understand. :(
Did you create pro tv-card a separate group? But you can only merge within a group!
and on the other site, you can only the same tv-cards in a group organization.

Can you take a few screenshots. :D

Or I'm get of the false ship?
W7MC-Rechner: GA-MA785GT-UD3H; AMD Athlon X4 630; beQuiet 300W; 8GB RAM; 8x DVB-S (2x PCTV4000i;2x DigitalDevices-DVBS2); W7MCE-32bit; DVBLink-Source 4.5.3; DVBLink-Connect; DVBLink-Client
... and you can find me: http://www.mce-community.de/forum/
Heiko123
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 9:54 pm

Merge channels from different TV-cards ??

Postby Videonisse » Thu Jun 02, 2016 11:32 am

You can only use one single source group, don't try create one for your other cards. For those others cards you need to create a single source per tuner. Then merge the channels. (Click Advanced settings if merge tab isn't available). That's it.
Win 7 64-bit SP1, Intel i5-3570K 3,4GHz HD 4000 Graphics, 6GB, TBS 6984 S2 Quad,TBS 6280 T2 Dual
DVBLink 5.5.0 Connect & TVSource (mc_recorder), CD S Thor 0.8W,FTA Aastra 19.2E, S FTA T2, ACAMD 0.6.2
Clients iPhone 4S 5S 6S, iPad2 iOS 9,Win 7 PCs
Videonisse
 
Posts: 573
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 10:29 pm
Location: Stocholm, sweden

Re: Merge channels from different TV-cards ??

Postby Heathy65 » Mon Jun 13, 2016 11:43 am

I have a similar query.

I'm in the UK and have a DVB-T HDHomerun device which has 2 tuners for FreeView reception. I also have a SAT>IP (DVB-S/S2) unit which has 4 tuners for FreeSat reception.

Since the FreeView & FreeSat services have different channel lists I have created them in separate groups.

My problem is that there are many channels which are common to both FreeView & FreeSat so I want to merge these.

Any thoughts...
Heathy65
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:59 am

Re: Merge channels from different TV-cards ??

Postby Cessquill » Mon Jun 13, 2016 11:59 am

@Heathy65

My understanding is this - only merge the Freesat tuners, keep the Freeview ones separate. This should then allow you to merge them as you want, but you'll need to do more work, since you'll have to set up the 2 Freeview tuners separately.

It's a bit of a hack, but if I've understood things it should work. My install's in a mess though that either needs rebuilding after years of upgrades and changes, or ditching so I haven't tried it yet.

From http://dvblogic.com/wiki/index.php/How_to_merge_channels: "Channel merge is a very powerful and very important concept of DVBLink Server. By merging channels from different sources into a single logical channel user allows DVBLink Server to perform efficient tuner sharing among all its clients."

It doesn't make mention that this is not available if you use source groups. :(
Cessquill
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 11:24 am

Re: Merge channels from different TV-cards ??

Postby Heathy65 » Mon Jun 13, 2016 12:21 pm

Thanks for your thoughts.

What I did is merge my 2 FreeView tuners and then separately merge my 4 FreeSat tuners.

So, for example looking at the screenshot I attached, I want to merge all 6 instances of 4seven together.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2016-06-13 at 12.19.12.png
Screen Shot 2016-06-13 at 12.19.12.png (35.74 KiB) Viewed 8391 times
Heathy65
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:59 am

Re: Merge channels from different TV-cards ??

Postby Cessquill » Mon Jun 13, 2016 12:45 pm

Sorry - my wording was a little unclear. I meant only GROUP the Freesat tuners, don't GROUP the Freeview ones. My understanding is that the merge feature does not cope with more than one set of tuners grouped together. That's the source group bit, earlier on.

You should then be able to merge channels by dragging them, so the two sets of Freeview 4seven will drop onto the 4 Freesat ones.

Granted, you will have to set up your Freeview channels twice though (unless there's a way of copying them I don't know about - can you source group then split them?).
Cessquill
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 11:24 am

Re: Merge channels from different TV-cards ??

Postby Heathy65 » Wed Jun 15, 2016 11:25 am

Ah thanks Cessquill, I understand now.
Heathy65
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:59 am

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests