schedule recording from any/more than one channel

Write here about the features that you would like to have added to our products!

schedule recording from any/more than one channel

Postby charettepa » Tue Jun 07, 2016 8:22 pm

please add ability to schedule recording from any/more than one channel
right now you can schedule for "any time" but not "any time, any channel"

in my area we have some networks with multiple channels that shift things around
an example

mike and molly can play on CTV or CTV2
this can change throughout the season
so one week its on one channel the next week its on another

or another example is talent shows like xfactor, americas got tallent, idol etc..
ex. often the show will play on wednesday on CTV and the results are on Thursday on ctv2
Server: DVBLink 6.0, QNAP TS-451, SiliconDust HDHomerun x2 (4ATSC), SiliconDust HDHomerun x1 (2QAM), Zap2it XMLTV
Clients: 4xGoogle Nexus Player + KODI 16.1 x86, Nvidia Shield + KODI 16.1
charettepa
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 5:14 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario - Canada


Re: schedule recording from any/more than one channel

Postby btaroli » Wed Jun 08, 2016 1:10 am

I think you may be able to accomplish this, but maybe not entirely the way you were hoping or thinking. If you're in the EPG view and search, at the top of the results display is a link to Set as recording schedule. If you click that and then go to Schedules > View Mode: By Schedule, you'll find a schedule named "Search pattern schedule: 'your search words'". It will work across all channels and times. Indeed you can't constrain it that way. It captures all matches within the EPG.

So it might not be exactly what you were thinking, but better than nothing. ;)
btaroli
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 12:26 am
Location: SF Bay Area, CA, USA

Re: schedule recording from any/more than one channel

Postby charettepa » Wed Jun 08, 2016 1:53 pm

thanks for your reply
it may partially work

however in many cases it wont
as frequently a series will change channels mid season to acommodate something else
in this case it would not have been there on the original search
so I cant add it until the change happens

most PVR systems supports this
even cable/satelite company units which seem to be way behind in tech

this should not be a huge change
if they can make the time parameter "any" they can make the channel parameter "any"
Server: DVBLink 6.0, QNAP TS-451, SiliconDust HDHomerun x2 (4ATSC), SiliconDust HDHomerun x1 (2QAM), Zap2it XMLTV
Clients: 4xGoogle Nexus Player + KODI 16.1 x86, Nvidia Shield + KODI 16.1
charettepa
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 5:14 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario - Canada

Re: schedule recording from any/more than one channel

Postby Oberon » Wed Jun 08, 2016 2:04 pm

The results do not have to be in the original search. The search will be repeated regularly to check for the new programs to record.
You can also use modifiers "" and # to search for exact match and only in titles.
Oberon
 
Posts: 11763
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 5:04 am

Re: schedule recording from any/more than one channel

Postby charettepa » Wed Jun 08, 2016 2:26 pm

i have just tried this now
it partially works

the first issue is that you can not tell it to record only new episodes
the second issue is that it saves the recording schedule as "search patttern" and not the shows name

can we please look at the ability to add "any channel"
this would also solve the issue of no recordings when a transponder changes and the channel is re-scanned as a new channel
Server: DVBLink 6.0, QNAP TS-451, SiliconDust HDHomerun x2 (4ATSC), SiliconDust HDHomerun x1 (2QAM), Zap2it XMLTV
Clients: 4xGoogle Nexus Player + KODI 16.1 x86, Nvidia Shield + KODI 16.1
charettepa
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 5:14 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario - Canada

Re: schedule recording from any/more than one channel

Postby charettepa » Wed Jan 04, 2017 6:59 pm

any update on this

modifiers "" and # to search for exact match and only in titles
does help
but

still cant do only new timers

also in the recordings, not directly in dvblink but (in kodi)
instead of displaying the show/series name when grouped
it displays the search term

for instance
#"Saturday Night Live *" is displayed instead of Saturday Night Live *
data is being passed this way in the API/plugin for apps like kodi
this is messy

also in the scheduled section everything shows up under s for search based recording instead of by its proper name

and you cannot specify new shows only


for your suggestion of search based timers to work
3 things listed above need to happen

1- allow to specify new recordings only
2- strip the modifier characters in the "grouped" display name in kodi recordings (the data is being passed in api/plugin to apps like kodi, but should not)
3- strip the modifier characters in the display name in schedules section so its not all under s

Thank You
Server: DVBLink 6.0, QNAP TS-451, SiliconDust HDHomerun x2 (4ATSC), SiliconDust HDHomerun x1 (2QAM), Zap2it XMLTV
Clients: 4xGoogle Nexus Player + KODI 16.1 x86, Nvidia Shield + KODI 16.1
charettepa
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 5:14 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario - Canada


Return to Feature requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron