Page 3 of 3

Re: [solved] Kodi Freezes LiveTV

PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2016 11:33 am
by BartZorn
First results:

Installation went without problems. Next I started DVBlink Viewer (local, on the same system where DVBlink TVsource runs) and selected NPO1 HD. Played OK.

Next, from my laptop, I started Kodi, and started RTL4 HD. The DVBlink viewer immediately froze. The picture in Kodi does play, but with a lot of pixelation.

I have added the the log files. The first part of the server log file is from before the upgrade to 6.0.0.

Bart

Re: [not solved] Kodi Freezes LiveTV

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2016 11:49 am
by BartZorn
Further testing shows the following:

- There is substantially more pixelation on encrypted channels than on FTA channels.
- Pixelation is often so severe, that you cannot watch the channel.
- I have seen freezes on encrypted channels, not on FTA channels.
- I have seen freezes on the moment that channel change activity was going on on the other tuner.
- I have also seen freezes when the other tuner was idle.

This all seems to lead to suspect the CI/CAM/Smart card.

- The Smart card works fine in my other tuner (a SAB Unix Triple HD)
- As far as I know, the CI is merely a PCIe to PCMCIA adapter.
- This leaves the CAM as primary suspect.

Is this assumption reasonable?

Please correct me if I am wrong!

TIA,

Bart

Re: [not solved] Kodi Freezes LiveTV

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 11:04 am
by BartZorn
OK, nobody cares.

Since 6.0.0 did not improve anything for me, I want to revert to 5.5.0.

Do I have to uninstall 6.0.0 first, or can I just reinstall 5.5.0?

Thanks,

Bart

Re: [solved] Kodi Freezes LiveTV

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 11:33 am
by the_man
Better to do a full reinstall.

Re: [solved] Kodi Freezes LiveTV

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 3:20 pm
by BartZorn
the_man wrote:Better to do a full reinstall.


I took this as first uninstall 6.0.0. I am back now at 5.5.0 and I am trying to get my hands on another CAM.

Bart

Re: [solved] Kodi Freezes LiveTV

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2016 8:22 am
by BartZorn
It took a while, but now I have another CAM. The first impression was that it is a big improvement. No freezes and only some pixelation when the other tuner is changing channels.
But no, the freezes are back (and that is not pretty when watching the Olympics!).

So what to try next? Put the blame on the Digital Devices hardware? I have asked them for a comment, but their suggestion was to change the CAM (which I did not buy from DD).

Has anyone some advice or suggestions?

TIA,

Bart

Re: [solved] Kodi Freezes LiveTV

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2016 11:43 am
by the_man
BartZorn wrote:It took a while, but now I have another CAM. The first impression was that it is a big improvement. No freezes and only some pixelation when the other tuner is changing channels.
But no, the freezes are back (and that is not pretty when watching the Olympics!).
So what to try next? Put the blame on the Digital Devices hardware? I have asked them for a comment, but their suggestion was to change the CAM (which I did not buy from DD).
Has anyone some advice or suggestions?
TIA
Bart


Could you please also check the temperature of the tuners? (via the DD control panel or so)
The hight temperature also may cause the issues. But in that case both FTA and Encrypted channels should have almost the same behaviour.

Re: [solved] Kodi Freezes LiveTV

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2016 12:32 pm
by BartZorn
I can't find any reference to temperature on the DD control panel. Also, the tuner log file from DD does not mention temperature anywhere.

Could you give me a hint how/where I can find this information?

Bart

Re: [solved] Kodi Freezes LiveTV

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 10:08 pm
by BartZorn
It has been a while, and in the mean time I found out that there was a hardware problem with my Digital Devices Cine S2 card.
I now have a new card and my first impression was that it is a huge improvement. However, I have occasional bursts of pixelation and worse, freezes.

When I have a freeze, the entire PC is dead. It does not respond to the keyboard or mouse. CTRL-ALT-DELETE does nothing.

I attach the DVBlink logfiles from just after the last freeze.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Bart

Re: [solved] Kodi Freezes LiveTV

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 9:05 am
by the_man
Unfortunately, nothing useful there. Please set log level to info, and attach a new log files in case of issues playback

Re: [solved] Kodi Freezes LiveTV

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 9:08 am
by BartZorn
the_man wrote:Unfortunately, nothing useful there. Please set log level to info, and attach a new log files in case of issues playback


Thanks. I have set the log level to info, and will let you know when something happens.

Bart