Page 1 of 2

Recording Timer bug

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 12:06 am
by RTK
Kodi 15/16 bug with DVBLink on Synology NAS

From Kodi EPG, manually start recording of a Live TV channel. Popup in right lower quadrant appears:

PVR Inormation
Recording Scheduled: Sleepy Hollow

Of course the program being recorded is not Sleepy Hollow. Manually stopping or deleting the recording also results in a similar message saying:

PVR Information
Timer Deleted: Sleepy Hollow

Any ideas? I suspect this is a DVBLink issue, can anyone verify a similar behavior?

Re: Recording Timer bug

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 12:21 am
by RTK
A bit more exploring. For some reason the DVBLink Kodi Add-on is pulling and displaying the wrong recording timer information in the popup message. For example, if I go to DVBLink Web app and delete the Sleepy Hollow series recording timer, manually setting up a recording from Kodi EPG then results in one of my different series recording timers is displayed in the pop-up. Recordings still seem to work and are properly listed if you look at list of timers in Kodi however the pop-up displaying wrong information is a bug which causes confusion which should be fixed.

Re: Recording Timer bug

PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2015 12:15 am
by RTK
Here is an example. The recording just started is "College Football" as shown in the EPG however the pop-up message displays the wrong information

screenshot000.jpg
screenshot000.jpg (152.06 KiB) Viewed 4137 times

Re: Recording Timer bug

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 9:36 am
by the_man
Go to TV setting and do Clear data at Kodi. Then try to reproduce the issue.
Are there any other schedules/timers at times tab?

Re: Recording Timer bug

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 12:09 pm
by RTK
Clearing data in Kodi has zero effect. I've even tried a complete clean install of Kodi and the same issue exists. There are no other timers conflicting or even occurring at same time.

Are you saying you don't see this issue with your Kodi setup or were you just making a general suggestion to resolve the issue?

Re: Recording Timer bug

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 12:26 pm
by the_man
I can't reproduce this issue. Tried do it with two servers.

Re: Recording Timer bug

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 1:16 pm
by RTK
So just so we're on the same page, you have setup series recording Timers via the DVBLink web app, then gone into to Kodi and manually setup a time from the EPG ?

Re: Recording Timer bug

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 1:27 pm
by RTK
OK, I went back to DVBLink web app, deleted all series recording timers. Now if I manually setup a recording from Kodi EPG, the pop-up window displays the correct information.

However, going back to DVBLink web app, setup a few series recording timers , restart Kodi setup a recording from EPG the same wrong information display in the pop-up. Series recordings setup from DVBLink web app are screwing up Kodi

Re: Recording Timer bug

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 1:33 pm
by the_man
The first test case:
- set up timers from dvblink web client, from EPG
- delete these recordings
The second test case:
- set up timers from Kodi, at Guide section
- tried with current recordings and with recordings for future
The third test case:
- more then 20 timers have already set up
- added one more timer in kodi

All tests completed correctly.

Re: Recording Timer bug

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 1:46 pm
by RTK
Thanks for running those tests. Are you running a Windows server or on a NAS?

Not sure what else to say other than once I setup series recordings from DVBLink web app, any future manual recording setup from Kodi EPG will result in the wrong information displayed in the pop-up window. I'm running out of ideas other than wiping out DVBLink and trying a fresh install which seems insane as the issue is limited to Kodi

Somehow Kodi (PVR add-on) is confusing or pulling the wrong information to display.

Re: Recording Timer bug

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 2:00 pm
by the_man
The latest PVR at the moment 1.10.9
Can you please, delete all recordings, set log level to info, restart dvblink sever, wait up to 20 minutes, reproduce the issue and attach zipped log files here?
Also if not to take into account information at kodi's pop-up. Are recordings recorded correctly? ( if you will check it at web-client - content/title )

Re: Recording Timer bug

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 2:19 pm
by RTK
see below

Re: Recording Timer bug

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2015 6:40 am
by RTK
the_man, I believe I have isolated the issue. Before trying to duplicate below, please make sure series recordings are setup on your DVBLink server/NAS. I currently have ~12 setup, but more the better. Also, I do not know if this may be a factor but in the DVBLink web app Settings, under Recorder tab, Definition of 'New only' schedules = Programs having no Repeat flag in EPG

The behavior in which the Kodi pop-up message displays the wrong information only happens when an single episode timer is setup from the Kodi EPG. Selecting a show to record from the Kodi EPG and then setting it up as a series recording in the dialogue box results in the small pop-up window displaying the correct information. Can you check if you see a difference in the pop-up message when setting up a single episode timer vs. series recording timer when setting up a recording directly from the Kodi EPG?

Re: Recording Timer bug

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2015 7:28 am
by the_man
I'll going to check it today and let you know about the result.

Re: Recording Timer bug

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2015 9:54 am
by the_man
So, i spend much more time as a result all tests done and all successful. Tests were conducted with your input information and more.
Only thing i want to underline, when there already set up some recordings ( series recordings in our particular case) and i add a new one, but single ( actually it does not matter ), in pop-up very fast appear-disappear name of recording, i have just set up ( to be honest, i missed this info, a few times ) and then appear all else names of recordings wich i previously have set up.
Also all results were checked in log files and in web-client.