Page 3 of 3

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2015 8:32 am
by michasvision
I don't think that this is a license issue because the behavior is sporadic.

@DVBLogic
The issue is easy to reproduce: just switch a few times between channels (HD and SD). At some point you'll see a black screen.
If you don't have an ARM test device I can send you mine, because it's useless for me (for months!).

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2015 9:04 am
by Oberon
We do have a number of ARM-based clients here and test on all of them continuously.
I suspect that the issue that you have resides in how Kodi uses codecs of the TV Box and is very specific to that particular setup. I am afraid that there is nothing we can do here to make it work and you should seek further help on Kodi forums.

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2015 11:59 am
by speedy
what works for me is to "stop" the live tv and then open the channel
-> maybe just to call the stop method before opening a new channel would be sufficient
can this be done from the dvdlink client itself .. or is this a kodi issue?

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2015 12:16 pm
by michasvision
@oberon: What about the Raspberry PI 2 ?

I have updated everything (DVBLogic, Openelec, Kodi) and still get sporadic black screens...

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2015 12:36 pm
by the_man
michasvision wrote:@oberon: What about the Raspberry PI 2 ?

I have updated everything (DVBLogic, Openelec, Kodi) and still get sporadic black screens...


Did you try to reproduce the issue with Transcoding enabled?

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2015 1:00 pm
by michasvision
@man: The check is set In Settings under General Tab for "Enable Video Transcoding".

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2015 1:09 pm
by michasvision
@Oberan:

Again my bug description:
Start Live-TV with a SD channel, switch to HD channel => KODI crashes.
Start Live-TV with a HD channel, switch to SD channel => black screen.

No crashes or black screen
as long as you stay on HD channels
or
as long as you stay on SD channels
.

Workaround for black screen:
Go to EPG and switch channel from the EPG menu.

No workaround for crash,
but RPi2 and Openelec start so fast that it almost doesn't matter...



Please confirm that you have a Rasperry Pi 2 to test with.
If you do not have one I can send you mine, I bought it especially for Live-TV with KODI & DVBLink. It's useless for me until this error is fixed...

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2015 2:32 pm
by the_man
How it work for you, if you before switching from SD to HD channel (or HD to SD) click on Stop button?

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2015 4:31 pm
by michasvision
Please, somebody from DVBlogic reproduce, acknowledge and fix this problem.
I don't want to test any longer...

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2015 7:07 pm
by Oberon
As much as we would like to help you it looks like an issue on Kodi side or more precise - Kodi openelec issue. You would need to post on their forum to get help.

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2015 8:49 am
by michasvision
Oberon, how to get in contact with you via Email?
... since it will not make sense to discuss any legal issues here in public.

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2015 8:50 am
by Oberon
You can use a PM of this forum. I hardly see any legal issues in this discussion.

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 3:27 pm
by Koen Zomers
Did this issue ever get sorted out? I'm seeing the same behavior on a RaspBerri Pi 2 with DVBLogic. When transcoding is enabled, all works fine, without it, only HD or SD channels work. Seems to match with what is being said here.

Any tips on how to resolve?

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2016 8:03 pm
by Koen Zomers
For me this was resolved by purchasing and applying the MPEG2 license as shown on https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3zToVK6U7AM and overclocking the Raspberry Pi 2 as explained on http://wiki.openelec.tv/index.php?title=Raspberry_Pi_FAQ#How_do_I_overclock_my_PI.3F

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2016 10:28 am
by speedy
sounds to me as it is the same problem as i posted here:
viewtopic.php?f=102&t=30513#p108418

but apparently this has low prio