problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi 2

DVBLink Kodi PVR addon is discussed here

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

Postby michasvision » Thu May 21, 2015 8:32 am

I don't think that this is a license issue because the behavior is sporadic.

@DVBLogic
The issue is easy to reproduce: just switch a few times between channels (HD and SD). At some point you'll see a black screen.
If you don't have an ARM test device I can send you mine, because it's useless for me (for months!).
michasvision
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 12:20 pm


Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

Postby Oberon » Thu May 21, 2015 9:04 am

We do have a number of ARM-based clients here and test on all of them continuously.
I suspect that the issue that you have resides in how Kodi uses codecs of the TV Box and is very specific to that particular setup. I am afraid that there is nothing we can do here to make it work and you should seek further help on Kodi forums.
Oberon
 
Posts: 11763
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 5:04 am

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

Postby speedy » Thu May 21, 2015 11:59 am

what works for me is to "stop" the live tv and then open the channel
-> maybe just to call the stop method before opening a new channel would be sufficient
can this be done from the dvdlink client itself .. or is this a kodi issue?
speedy
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:37 am

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

Postby michasvision » Thu May 21, 2015 12:16 pm

@oberon: What about the Raspberry PI 2 ?

I have updated everything (DVBLogic, Openelec, Kodi) and still get sporadic black screens...
michasvision
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 12:20 pm

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

Postby the_man » Thu May 21, 2015 12:36 pm

michasvision wrote:@oberon: What about the Raspberry PI 2 ?

I have updated everything (DVBLogic, Openelec, Kodi) and still get sporadic black screens...


Did you try to reproduce the issue with Transcoding enabled?
NETGEAR RNDU2000; Synology DS112j, DS 212j, DS213+, DS 712+; Western Digital WD ex2; Asustor AS3, RPI2 ...
PCTV 460,461e,292e; TT 4400, 4650CI;DVBSKy S960; DD octopus net; Inverto sat2ip multibox; TBS DVB-C ...
the_man
 
Posts: 4696
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:11 pm

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

Postby michasvision » Mon May 25, 2015 1:00 pm

@man: The check is set In Settings under General Tab for "Enable Video Transcoding".
michasvision
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 12:20 pm

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

Postby michasvision » Mon May 25, 2015 1:09 pm

@Oberan:

Again my bug description:
Start Live-TV with a SD channel, switch to HD channel => KODI crashes.
Start Live-TV with a HD channel, switch to SD channel => black screen.

No crashes or black screen
as long as you stay on HD channels
or
as long as you stay on SD channels
.

Workaround for black screen:
Go to EPG and switch channel from the EPG menu.

No workaround for crash,
but RPi2 and Openelec start so fast that it almost doesn't matter...



Please confirm that you have a Rasperry Pi 2 to test with.
If you do not have one I can send you mine, I bought it especially for Live-TV with KODI & DVBLink. It's useless for me until this error is fixed...
michasvision
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 12:20 pm

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

Postby the_man » Mon May 25, 2015 2:32 pm

How it work for you, if you before switching from SD to HD channel (or HD to SD) click on Stop button?
NETGEAR RNDU2000; Synology DS112j, DS 212j, DS213+, DS 712+; Western Digital WD ex2; Asustor AS3, RPI2 ...
PCTV 460,461e,292e; TT 4400, 4650CI;DVBSKy S960; DD octopus net; Inverto sat2ip multibox; TBS DVB-C ...
the_man
 
Posts: 4696
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:11 pm

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

Postby michasvision » Mon May 25, 2015 4:31 pm

Please, somebody from DVBlogic reproduce, acknowledge and fix this problem.
I don't want to test any longer...
michasvision
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 12:20 pm

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

Postby Oberon » Mon May 25, 2015 7:07 pm

As much as we would like to help you it looks like an issue on Kodi side or more precise - Kodi openelec issue. You would need to post on their forum to get help.
Oberon
 
Posts: 11763
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 5:04 am

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

Postby michasvision » Tue May 26, 2015 8:49 am

Oberon, how to get in contact with you via Email?
... since it will not make sense to discuss any legal issues here in public.
michasvision
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 12:20 pm

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

Postby Oberon » Tue May 26, 2015 8:50 am

You can use a PM of this forum. I hardly see any legal issues in this discussion.
Oberon
 
Posts: 11763
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 5:04 am

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

Postby Koen Zomers » Thu Dec 24, 2015 3:27 pm

Did this issue ever get sorted out? I'm seeing the same behavior on a RaspBerri Pi 2 with DVBLogic. When transcoding is enabled, all works fine, without it, only HD or SD channels work. Seems to match with what is being said here.

Any tips on how to resolve?
Server: GigaByte GA-Z77N, Intel Core i5, 16 GB RAM
Tuners: Digital Devices CineCTV6 quad DVB-C
Software: DVBLogic 6.0.0 Server b14499,IPTV b13107,TVSource b14061,Acamd
Clients: Android, Kodi 17.6, RaspBerryPi 2 OpenElec
Koen Zomers
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 11:18 pm

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

Postby Koen Zomers » Sat Jan 09, 2016 8:03 pm

For me this was resolved by purchasing and applying the MPEG2 license as shown on https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3zToVK6U7AM and overclocking the Raspberry Pi 2 as explained on http://wiki.openelec.tv/index.php?title=Raspberry_Pi_FAQ#How_do_I_overclock_my_PI.3F
Server: GigaByte GA-Z77N, Intel Core i5, 16 GB RAM
Tuners: Digital Devices CineCTV6 quad DVB-C
Software: DVBLogic 6.0.0 Server b14499,IPTV b13107,TVSource b14061,Acamd
Clients: Android, Kodi 17.6, RaspBerryPi 2 OpenElec
Koen Zomers
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 11:18 pm

Re: problem switching channels in KODI 14.1 on Raspberry Pi

Postby speedy » Sun Jan 10, 2016 10:28 am

sounds to me as it is the same problem as i posted here:
viewtopic.php?f=102&t=30513#p108418

but apparently this has low prio
speedy
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:37 am

Previous

Return to DVBLink Kodi PVR Addon

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron