OSX: DVBlink Player - Sound only from BBC HD Channels

General discussion about DVBLink products

OSX: DVBlink Player - Sound only from BBC HD Channels

Postby solomalee » Sun May 22, 2016 11:43 am

Hi,

Although all SD channels appear perfect, when tuning an HD channel, after a few seconds I get sound, but no picture.

Solo

Tuner:Octopus NET (SATIP)
Server:Synology DS1010 DSM 5.2,DVBlink 6.0,Digiguide EPG 6.0
Client:RPI3 LibreElec 8.0.1, KODI 17.1, DVBlink addon
solomalee
 
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 5:59 pm


Re: OSX: DVBlink Player - Sound only from BBC HD Channels

Postby Oberon » Sun May 22, 2016 1:27 pm

Are these channels from freeview or freesat? Also what is the spec of the OSX system ?
Oberon
 
Posts: 11763
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 5:04 am

Re: OSX: DVBlink Player - Sound only from BBC HD Channels

Postby solomalee » Sun May 22, 2016 2:34 pm

Hi, Oberon,

Yes, these are FreeSAT HD Channels

BBC 1 HD
BBC2 HD
BBC News HD

With ITV HD and Channel 5 HD, I do eventually get a single still image

The OSX System Spec where the DVB Link Player is running is as follows:
MacBook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.93Ghz
8Gb Memory
Macintosh OSX El Capitan

If I use the DVB link web client on the same machine (Full Screen mode), HD channels are OK if I go to full screen on my 27" Cinema Display. I'm not sure they are "HD quality though, there appears to be some blockiness when switching to full screen (but then the MacBook display is better than HD, so I suppose these could be scale up artefacts).

Tuner:Octopus NET (SATIP)
Server:Synology DS1010 DSM 5.2,DVBlink 6.0,Digiguide EPG 6.0
Client:RPI3 LibreElec 8.0.1, KODI 17.1, DVBlink addon
solomalee
 
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 5:59 pm

Re: OSX: DVBlink Player - Sound only from BBC HD Channels

Postby Oberon » Mon May 23, 2016 11:17 am

It is MacBook Pro from Mid 2009, right?
I believe it is a bit too weak for full hd 1080p channels, like bbc hd.
Oberon
 
Posts: 11763
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 5:04 am

Re: OSX: DVBlink Player - Sound only from BBC HD Channels

Postby solomalee » Mon May 23, 2016 11:42 am

I've run HD from EyeTV before now and those HD channels are fine from the DVB link web UI (Are you saying the Web UI doesn't show the native resolution of the selected channel?)

Sure, the machine is getting a bit old, but I'm not convinced it's a horsepower issue especially as this machine is only running the DVB link player (No server parts).

I'll look again on a different app to see if the system can otherwise deal with HD resolution.

Tuner:Octopus NET (SATIP)
Server:Synology DS1010 DSM 5.2,DVBlink 6.0,Digiguide EPG 6.0
Client:RPI3 LibreElec 8.0.1, KODI 17.1, DVBlink addon
solomalee
 
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 5:59 pm


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests