Windows 10 - No WMC

General discussions over DVBLink products

Windows 10 - No WMC

Postby Amatoren » Tue Jun 02, 2015 11:49 am

Hi.

How will the "road" bei the futher, when Microsoft stop suporting WMC from version 10?

What alternatives will I have for Media center when some Norwegian require Silvelights for playing som WEB based pay TV and I want a Media center version on same PC?

The Windows WMC has never been matched by any Linux STB SW. In windows if a recording changes in time and the EPG are updated the recording also record correctly. On my STB the recording was "hard coded" start stop time from EPG and then not updated. So if a serie had summer pause and startet at the autom at different time, then it didn't record the correct time.

Another nice thing was if I played one recording, exit it and looked at another with my Wife I can go back to same place in the first recording and see the rest. No jumping to find the stop/pause time.

Can Kodi this (update recording time by EPG change and remmember last played time)?
Amatoren
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 2:43 pm


Re: Windows 10 - No WMC

Postby the_man » Tue Jun 02, 2015 12:09 pm

I think that Kodi with DVBLink PVR Addon the best choise for replace WMC. There are no all WMC features in Kodi, but it is constantly evolving.
NETGEAR RNDU2000; Synology DS112j, DS 212j, DS213+, DS 712+; Western Digital WD ex2; Asustor AS3, RPI2 ...
PCTV 460,461e,292e; TT 4400, 4650CI;DVBSKy S960; DD octopus net; Inverto sat2ip multibox; TBS DVB-C ...
the_man
 
Posts: 4664
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:11 pm

Re: Windows 10 - No WMC

Postby Videonisse » Wed Jun 03, 2015 7:30 am

I would say stick to Win 7 and WMC, especially if your family use PVR features.

Kodi still is like a alpha 0.9 version in regards of PVR features.
Win 7 64-bit SP1, Intel i5-3570K 3,4GHz HD 4000 Graphics, 6GB, TBS 6984 S2 Quad,TBS 6280 T2 Dual
DVBLink 5.5.0 Connect & TVSource (mc_recorder), CD S Thor 0.8W,FTA Aastra 19.2E, S FTA T2, ACAMD 0.6.2
Clients iPhone 4S 5S 6S, iPad2 iOS 9,Win 7 PCs
Videonisse
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 10:29 pm
Location: Stocholm, sweden

Re: Windows 10 - No WMC

Postby yamcenutzer » Wed Jun 03, 2015 6:09 pm

marginal improvement:
https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/pull/7209

should allow to display episode names in confluence w/o having to make your own gui
DVBLink TVSource 6, 4x DigitalDevices S2 Tuners, Win7x64, Dq77MK, e3-1225, 8GB, WMC local, WMC-remote, testing KODI usabilty for TV since 2012 - still failing...
yamcenutzer
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 1:53 pm


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron