Trancoding in windows to VLC server v6

Post your questions about DVBLink products running on Windows platform here!

Trancoding in windows to VLC server v6

Postby Bekker » Tue Jun 07, 2016 1:36 pm

Just upgraded dvblink server to version 6 windows. Have a question about transcoding. In clients the transcode level is set in the client. When using a stream with VLC I am no longer able to set level of transcoding manually? Only yes or no?
Also noticed some difficulty with series recordings with programs without data about season and episode?
Otherwise V6 seems to be working great so far.
Bekker
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 11:00 pm


Re: Trancoding in windows to VLC server v6

Postby the_man » Wed Jun 08, 2016 10:37 am

Just upgraded dvblink server to version 6 windows. Have a question about transcoding. In clients the transcode level is set in the client. When using a stream with VLC I am no longer able to set level of transcoding manually? Only yes or no?

It completely depends on the client, on the server side you may just allow or forbid the transcoding.
PS. The DVBLink Player do not have a transcoding option, as it designed for LAN. You may use the dvblink client for Browser if you need the transcoding.

Also noticed some difficulty with series recordings with programs without data about season and episode?
Otherwise V6 seems to be working great so far.

There were no any changes, it could be the EPG data issue or so. Also check the General Settings -> Recorder -> Filename pattern
NETGEAR RNDU2000; Synology DS112j, DS 212j, DS213+, DS 712+; Western Digital WD ex2; Asustor AS3, RPI2 ...
PCTV 460,461e,292e; TT 4400, 4650CI;DVBSKy S960; DD octopus net; Inverto sat2ip multibox; TBS DVB-C ...
the_man
 
Posts: 4696
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:11 pm

Re: Trancoding in windows to VLC server v6

Postby Bekker » Mon Jun 13, 2016 11:36 pm

Okay. Lets say you wanted to use a high level of compression because of af a slow internet connection.

How can you do this with a VLC stream? Or does it compress according to the speed? In 5.5 you could set the level of compression and resolution in the server interface?
Bekker
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 11:00 pm

Re: Trancoding in windows to VLC server v6

Postby the_man » Tue Jun 14, 2016 9:08 am

As i said: You may use the dvblink client for Browser if you need the transcoding. There still available settings for change bitrate/resolutions.
NETGEAR RNDU2000; Synology DS112j, DS 212j, DS213+, DS 712+; Western Digital WD ex2; Asustor AS3, RPI2 ...
PCTV 460,461e,292e; TT 4400, 4650CI;DVBSKy S960; DD octopus net; Inverto sat2ip multibox; TBS DVB-C ...
the_man
 
Posts: 4696
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:11 pm


Return to DVBLink Server on Windows platform

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron