server handles streams "wrong and causes freezes and crashes

Post your questions about DVBLink products running on Windows platform here!

server handles streams "wrong and causes freezes and crashes

Postby speedy » Wed Nov 04, 2015 7:46 am

hi everyone,

i know similar topics have been around, but i will try my luck, giving you maybe slightly different input to have a look at the issue.

my scenarios:
- i stream "nat geo wild hd" by cablecom switzerland to my dvblink client
-- client settings: transcoding ON: 2048kbit, language set to "eng"

error scenario 1): commercial break/end of show
- the show on "nat geo wild hd" streams fine in english
- when a commercial break kicks in (which is then usually in the "original" language german), it loses the stream/hangs in buffering the stream
assumptions:
a) problem might be that the show has a different video format than the commercial break video format; this format switch is not handled properly
b) problem might be that the show is transcoded in "another language" (english) than the commercial break which is only available in the "main language" german; this language switch is not handled properly
c) both of them a) + b) occur at the same time

error scenario 2)(only kodi dvblink clients): switching channels
- when i am streaming a channel and while streaming i decide to start to stream a new channel from "tv/channels"-list different thinks might occur:
-- stream does not start at all, hangs/freeze
-- stream only starts with sound
-- kodi crashes
-- stream starts, but audio is totally out of sync
assumptions:
a) "direct switch" handling is faulty
b) maybe same issues as assumed in error scenario 1)

my setup:
server: win 7 with DVBLink 5.5.0 and newest DVBLink for Dreambox
clients:
- ipad with dvblink app
- android box (kitkat) with kodi 15.2 with dvblink client
- android box (lolipop) with kodi 15.1 with dvblink client
- windows box (win10) with kodi 15.2 with dvblink client


so, if this would work fine, i would be very happy... any ideas and fixes?

cheers
speedy
speedy
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:37 am


Re: server handles streams "wrong and causes freezes and cra

Postby the_man » Wed Nov 04, 2015 9:29 am

Thank's for your investigation.
Regarding to first scenario i will try to reproduce the issue. (ca you, please, specify the channels with such behaviour?)
As for second one, the similar issues i had with Kodi15.0 but in with latest kodi 15.1(2) and with the same dvblink pvr client i've never experienced such issues. That make me thing that the issue related to kodi side. Anyway i will check it once more.
NETGEAR RNDU2000; Synology DS112j, DS 212j, DS213+, DS 712+; Western Digital WD ex2; Asustor AS3, RPI2 ...
PCTV 460,461e,292e; TT 4400, 4650CI;DVBSKy S960; DD octopus net; Inverto sat2ip multibox; TBS DVB-C ...
the_man
 
Posts: 4696
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:11 pm

Re: server handles streams "wrong and causes freezes and cra

Postby speedy » Wed Nov 04, 2015 10:03 am

hi the_man,

thanks for picking this up :)

to 1) i will try to collect some other channels and mention them here

to 2) i had this problem already with kodi 14 and the dvblink client. this is why i got myself a lot of new kodi-boxes with newer versions of everything (OS, Kodi, dvblink client, hardware and and and)
maybe a little addition: when i restart the system it works sometimes up to 5(?) channel-switches. at some point it gets buggy.. and as soon once a issue appears it only goes downhill untill i do a fresh restart.. and it start all over again :)
personally i excluded "kodi".. but might be an option. maybe it's also the dvblink client in this case: probably an easy workaround coulbe be that the dvblink client should send on a "direct switcht" the stop signal to the the dvblink server and then switch the channel. this is at least the impression im have how the ipad dvblink client handles channel switches (and has no probems because of this)
speedy
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:37 am

Re: server handles streams "wrong and causes freezes and cra

Postby speedy » Mon Nov 09, 2015 6:23 am

hi,

sadly i could not check for further channels this weekend. And even worse, looks like i will be only able to check on the weekend of 21st again :(

so, for 1) for now the only channel that i can ensure freezes is "Nat Geo Wild HD" (german edition)

for 2) switching other streaming sources very fast seams not to cause a problem.. only the tv channels coming from dvblink
speedy
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:37 am

Re: server handles streams "wrong and causes freezes and cra

Postby the_man » Tue Nov 10, 2015 11:36 am

I've spend more time looking on this issues.
- The tests had been conducted on Kodi 15.2 windows and on latest kodi on RPI2 ( openelec 6.0 )
- The dvblink server on windows 7
So, during the tests, i did not get crashes or something like that.
But i found one issue, which was at the Kodi 15.0 and 14.x:
- with disadled transcoding on RPI2 i get freesing of a picture between switching the channels, SD to HD
- SD channel (works) ->swich to HD (the image still from SD) -> switch to other SD ( works )

- With enabled transcoding all works good.
On windows Kodi, also no issue had been found.

As for
"my scenarios:
- i stream "nat geo wild hd" by cablecom switzerland to my dvblink client
-- client settings: transcoding ON: 2048kbit, language set to "eng"
"
Sorry, Can't reproduce at the moment. Will continue the investigation.
NETGEAR RNDU2000; Synology DS112j, DS 212j, DS213+, DS 712+; Western Digital WD ex2; Asustor AS3, RPI2 ...
PCTV 460,461e,292e; TT 4400, 4650CI;DVBSKy S960; DD octopus net; Inverto sat2ip multibox; TBS DVB-C ...
the_man
 
Posts: 4696
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:11 pm

Re: server handles streams "wrong and causes freezes and cra

Postby speedy » Tue Nov 10, 2015 12:49 pm

hi

when i have my environment again, i will also have a look on SD/HD switches .. this might be a good point.

2 more things:
- in general windows handles codecs - in my opinion - way better than android (client side)
- if it helps, we can agree again on time slots, where i can grant you access to my server, so you can try the channel

cheers
speedy
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:37 am

Re: server handles streams "wrong and causes freezes and cra

Postby the_man » Tue Nov 10, 2015 12:55 pm

Ok, but most probubly, it will be middle of the next week. I have a lot of work right now.
Also, how many TV Sources do you have? I mean maybe some switching issues can be retated to switching between TV Sources as well.
NETGEAR RNDU2000; Synology DS112j, DS 212j, DS213+, DS 712+; Western Digital WD ex2; Asustor AS3, RPI2 ...
PCTV 460,461e,292e; TT 4400, 4650CI;DVBSKy S960; DD octopus net; Inverto sat2ip multibox; TBS DVB-C ...
the_man
 
Posts: 4696
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:11 pm

Re: server handles streams "wrong and causes freezes and cra

Postby speedy » Tue Nov 10, 2015 3:41 pm

no, problem, we can have a look next week :)
just let me know when you have time :)

i have one dreambox source. yo know my system, when you you were analyzing my transcoding language issue :)

cheers
speedy
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:37 am

Re: server handles streams "wrong and causes freezes and cra

Postby speedy » Mon Nov 16, 2015 8:33 am

hi,

so i could actually do some tests - earlier than expected :)

this happened on a slightly different setup:
- instead of streaming over the internet, i did it on my local LAN (-> 1000Mbits/s instead of 5Mbits/s)
even then i had the same experience with the "freezing".

additionally to "nat geo wild hd" i experienced it also on "nat geo hd".
-> the setup was the same again: us show (in english audio) to german commercial (in german audio) -> loses stream.
i couldn't find any other channels doing this.

i took 2 screenshots of a show and a commercial, but:
- this was a direct stream from my source to the client (not over the dvblink server)
- when direct streaming i have no issues between us show and german commercial
- so i cannot really tell if the freeze would have happened in between the 2 pictures.. but i would guess so
- and from the information i myself would not see any change in any video format .. just in the audio format
Last edited by speedy on Mon Nov 16, 2015 8:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
speedy
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:37 am

Re: server handles streams "wrong and causes freezes and cra

Postby speedy » Mon Nov 16, 2015 8:37 am

hmm the screenshots did not get attached.. so second try
Attachments
german_commercial.JPG
german commercial
german_commercial.JPG (114.23 KiB) Viewed 10038 times
english_show.JPG
english show
english_show.JPG (120.23 KiB) Viewed 10038 times
speedy
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:37 am

Re: server handles streams "wrong and causes freezes and cra

Postby the_man » Mon Nov 16, 2015 8:40 am

Thank's for info!
We have added the "freezing" issue into our todo list.
As for
-> the setup was the same again: us show (in english audio) to german commercial (in german audio) -> loses stream.
i couldn't find any other channels doing this.

still can't reproduce. Just to clarify, it happens only with enabled transcoding, doesn't it?
NETGEAR RNDU2000; Synology DS112j, DS 212j, DS213+, DS 712+; Western Digital WD ex2; Asustor AS3, RPI2 ...
PCTV 460,461e,292e; TT 4400, 4650CI;DVBSKy S960; DD octopus net; Inverto sat2ip multibox; TBS DVB-C ...
the_man
 
Posts: 4696
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:11 pm

Re: server handles streams "wrong and causes freezes and cra

Postby speedy » Mon Nov 16, 2015 8:53 am

this is the only combination i did not try it yet:
- stream over dvblink server with NO transcoding

will give a try tomorrow evening

and again: let me know if you fancy access to my server at some point in this week :)
speedy
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:37 am

Re: server handles streams "wrong and causes freezes and cra

Postby djkahn » Mon Nov 16, 2015 10:50 am

On whs 2011 with a duoflex s2 in combination with dvblink server and tv source, i experianced the same issues.
The thing that fixid it for me:

Both dvblink server and tv source run as a service in windows.
In the dvblink server you have to check the box run with high priority.
With the tv source service however you have to do this manualy!!!
puch ctrl alt del, goto system managment find the service, set it to high,.
Et voila...... your problems are gone.

I hope.......
djkahn
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 10:33 am

Re: server handles streams "wrong and causes freezes and cra

Postby speedy » Mon Nov 16, 2015 11:20 am

will also try this tomorrow evening... :)

would be surprised if this works, because i have a dedicated server which the only purpose is the dvblink server... but it's worth a try!
thanks :)
speedy
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:37 am

Re: server handles streams "wrong and causes freezes and cra

Postby djkahn » Mon Nov 16, 2015 12:10 pm

I've got it running on a ml 110 hp server with an Intel xeon.
Dvblink generates les than 1% cpu load. So i thought, that can't be the solution. Yet it works.....
I'm so glad. It would have rendered the whole investment useless

Sucses!
djkahn
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 10:33 am

Next

Return to DVBLink Server on Windows platform

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests