Multi stream from single transponder.

Post your questions about DVBLink products running on Windows platform here!

Re: Multi stream from single transponder.

Postby piraeus » Thu Apr 30, 2015 6:41 am

Hi Oberon,
I won't go into too much details, I only have one wife but several kids ;-), plus in total we have 5 ipads, 4 iphones, 4 tvs, 2ps3, 2 ps4, 2 ps vita, 3 3ds, 5 computers, not to mention the ip camera security feeds. I know that 8 is fine for most of the people, it would also be fine for me in therory, but once you try to converge all connected devices that you use into a single management system you now get confronted to limitations.
Not so long ago we only had a few connected devices and the home internet connection was poor anyway, now that we have 1Gps/100Mps line at home, the whole "home" concept is evolving.
What if I now consider "home" being the places where my kids spend time, for example their grand parents, or my brothers's home. At that place they also have additional devices and wouldn't it be great to give them access to just one centralized server where they have their channels and recordings and manage what they can or can not watch/access? Same applies to satellite dishes, why would you install 4 dishes in "your extended home" when one is now sufficiant?
The limitation considerations are evolving, look at the itunes family accounts, it was not existing 6 months ago, now I have finally managed to centrally organise itunes content for all members and devices. I still have limitations with the game consoles.
Hope this answers your question, I think that in near future I will not be the only one asking about the limitations. Isn't technology about simplifying our lives ;-)
P
piraeus
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 8:26 am


Re: Multi stream from single transponder.

Postby peterp » Mon May 04, 2015 8:29 pm

As a (previous?) MediaPortal user, I'm very happy with DVBLink and its capabilities. I have purchased the required licenses for a client server setup.

There is still a multi stream problem with my setup. My setup is:
- Windows 8.1 Enterprise as TV Server, using TVSource build 11400
- Two FireDTV DVB-C tuners, one without CAM, one with Alphacrypt and subscription card
- Clients: PC with Kodi, Mac with VLC and Kodi, iPad with DVBLink & 8Player.

Watching multiple channels on the same transponder with the same tuner is no problem, as long as they are FTA.
When I try to watch two encrypted channels on the same tuner, the first one displays correctly. The second stream is also started, but seems to be sending encrypted data, which results in no video on the client.
Findings:
- The server log shows an error when an attempt is made to decrypt the second channel. However, it still starts sending data to the client. See log fragment below.
- The CI module does not show up in the Sources Configuration page
- The hardware setup *does* support watching two encrypted channels (it used to work with DVBViewer, until the author decided that this was illegal, and it still works with the MediaPortal setup)
- During testing, I noticed the Windows DVBLink Service crashed. Of course it was restarted by the Service Control Manager. This could very well be unrelated.

regards,
Peter

Code: Select all
2015-May-04 21:08:07:   [I] CTVSStreamSource::AddPID. Requesting PID 8191, client 207f2074-03cf-4da7-90dd-e24222ab6854:594000:2249:106:6020
2015-May-04 21:08:07:   [E] firedtv_ci_send_pmt: multi-channel decryption is not supported
2015-May-04 21:08:07:   [E] property_set_ci_send_pmt()
2015-May-04 21:08:07:   [I] tvs_program_streamer::tuning_thread. Finished tuning thread for program 207f2074-03cf-4da7-90dd-e24222ab6854:594000:2249:106:6020
2015-May-04 21:08:07:   [I] ts_converter::ProcessPATPacket. PAT is found and parsed successfully. Now looking for PMT...
2015-May-04 21:08:07:   [I] CTSStreamWaiter::GetPidToCheck. PID to check 6021
2015-May-04 21:08:07:   [I] ts_converter::ProcessPMTPacket. PMT is found and parsed successfully. Starting streaming.
2015-May-04 21:08:44:   [E] http_provider: http write error
2015-May-04 21:08:44:   [I] http_provider::send_thread_func: removing http client
2015-May-04 21:08:44:   [I] all clients are deleted. Setting exit flag
peterp
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 5:12 pm
Location: Gouda, The Netherlands

Re: Multi stream from single transponder.

Postby the_man » Thu May 07, 2015 11:07 am

peterp wrote:As a (previous?) MediaPortal user, I'm very happy with DVBLink and its capabilities. I have purchased the required licenses for a client server setup.

There is still a multi stream problem with my setup. My setup is:
- Windows 8.1 Enterprise as TV Server, using TVSource build 11400
- Two FireDTV DVB-C tuners, one without CAM, one with Alphacrypt and subscription card
- Clients: PC with Kodi, Mac with VLC and Kodi, iPad with DVBLink & 8Player.

...]

You may try to setup it at TV Source settings, under "Edit advanced settings" tab
http://dvblogic.com/wiki/index.php/How_ ... _or_higher
http://dvblogic.com/wiki/index.php/TVSo ... r_settings
NETGEAR RNDU2000; Synology DS112j, DS 212j, DS213+, DS 712+; Western Digital WD ex2; Asustor AS3, RPI2 ...
PCTV 460,461e,292e; TT 4400, 4650CI;DVBSKy S960; DD octopus net; Inverto sat2ip multibox; TBS DVB-C ...
the_man
 
Posts: 4696
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:11 pm

Re: Multi stream from single transponder.

Postby maraarni » Wed Nov 11, 2015 9:13 pm

I have now been testing multistream a little bit. It works but I have some problems still.

I have set limit for 1 Encrypted and 1 FTA, but still I get three channels allocated on one transponder. Obiviously 3rd doesnt work..
Am I missing something on my settings? At least this is happening on Octobus NET tuner.

Regards,
Markus
maraarni
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2015 8:21 pm

Re: Multi stream from single transponder.

Postby the_man » Thu Nov 12, 2015 8:18 am

maraarni wrote:I have now been testing multistream a little bit. It works but I have some problems still.

I have set limit for 1 Encrypted and 1 FTA, but still I get three channels allocated on one transponder. Obiviously 3rd doesnt work..
Am I missing something on my settings? At least this is happening on Octobus NET tuner.

Regards,
Markus


After changing this settings ( limit streams per transponder ) you have to restart dvblink server, in order to new settings to take affect.
NETGEAR RNDU2000; Synology DS112j, DS 212j, DS213+, DS 712+; Western Digital WD ex2; Asustor AS3, RPI2 ...
PCTV 460,461e,292e; TT 4400, 4650CI;DVBSKy S960; DD octopus net; Inverto sat2ip multibox; TBS DVB-C ...
the_man
 
Posts: 4696
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:11 pm

Previous

Return to DVBLink Server on Windows platform

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron