iOS add new server

Discuss DVBLink mobile clients (for iOS, Android and WinPhone) here!

iOS add new server

Postby nicdal » Tue Oct 27, 2015 11:13 am

It seems there is issues with the new iOS app to add new server.

- IP address can't be a hostname
- Port needs to be entered
- On error it just go back to front without saving, and without notifying the user.
nicdal
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 12:57 pm


Re: iOS add new server

Postby the_man » Tue Oct 27, 2015 11:25 am

Most probubly you do something wrong.
"- IP address can't be a hostname"
For instanse, this configuration is workable for me:
Address field: DS712
Port field: 8100

"- Port needs to be entered"
Of course it needs, if you enter ip/hostname manually, to eleminate entering of port, you can use "autodiscover" if you are in the same subnetwork as the server.

" - On error it just go back to front without saving, and without notifying the user. "
Sorry, I do not understand what you mean.
NETGEAR RNDU2000; Synology DS112j, DS 212j, DS213+, DS 712+; Western Digital WD ex2; Asustor AS3, RPI2 ...
PCTV 460,461e,292e; TT 4400, 4650CI;DVBSKy S960; DD octopus net; Inverto sat2ip multibox; TBS DVB-C ...
the_man
 
Posts: 4696
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:11 pm

Re: iOS add new server

Postby nicdal » Tue Oct 27, 2015 4:30 pm

re: hostname,

maybe it works when you use a hostname from your local network. I tried to add a new server using hostname from internet. And entering all information using ip address works, entering the same information and use domain doesn't.

re: port,

It define a default value under port. So I guess normal behavior should be that if you leave it empty it will use the default.

re: error message,

In the perfect world, if I do something wrong it should pop up with an error message telling me something went wrong.
As it is now it just "accept" everything and goes back to "server-selection-screen" without adding the new server. So I can simple hit "add new server" again and start entering everything from beginning again, without knowing which input was wrong.
nicdal
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 12:57 pm

Re: iOS add new server

Postby einsi » Tue Oct 27, 2015 6:48 pm

I'm having similar issues:
I add a server with IP, port, username and password. The server gets added to the list on the main screen but nothing happens when I press connect. This is bad user experience. If there is an error in my configuration and/or the server cannot be reach, the app should say so instead of just doing nothing. I've verified my configuration twice and even tried logging into the web interface of DVBLink in the browser on my phone using the same IP,port,username and password and that works fine.

I think the app needs a bit more testing and refinements in order to be useable.
einsi
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 7:28 pm

Re: iOS add new server

Postby Wishbringer » Tue Oct 27, 2015 9:30 pm

Entering a FQDN works. Same with port.
You haven't to click save while in edited field!
Better click into another field and then select save.
Wishbringer
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 3:30 pm

Re: iOS add new server

Postby the_man » Wed Oct 28, 2015 8:56 am

nicdal wrote:re:
re: port,
It define a default value under port. So I guess normal behavior should be that if you leave it empty it will use the default.
...

The default value of port will be added. As for messages - could be, but certainly not in short time.
NETGEAR RNDU2000; Synology DS112j, DS 212j, DS213+, DS 712+; Western Digital WD ex2; Asustor AS3, RPI2 ...
PCTV 460,461e,292e; TT 4400, 4650CI;DVBSKy S960; DD octopus net; Inverto sat2ip multibox; TBS DVB-C ...
the_man
 
Posts: 4696
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:11 pm

Re: iOS add new server

Postby the_man » Wed Oct 28, 2015 10:57 am

Wishbringer wrote:Entering a FQDN works. Same with port.
You haven't to click save while in edited field!
Better click into another field and then select save.


You are right. Also you can just hide/close the keyboard before pressing - save button. We will try to improve this behaviour.
NETGEAR RNDU2000; Synology DS112j, DS 212j, DS213+, DS 712+; Western Digital WD ex2; Asustor AS3, RPI2 ...
PCTV 460,461e,292e; TT 4400, 4650CI;DVBSKy S960; DD octopus net; Inverto sat2ip multibox; TBS DVB-C ...
the_man
 
Posts: 4696
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:11 pm


Return to DVBLink mobile clients

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests